Sailor on Pukaki

Five minutes and the Commander shouts “All hands on Deck.” My comrades and I sit in our positions on the portside with my head facing the starboard. In less than 40 seconds we get ready for the bomb detonation. Thinking now about what is going to happen to us afterwards.

Preparing for the bomb explosion we close our eyes and listen to the broadcast countdown…

“60……50…… .40……30……20……..10, 9, 8, 7, 6 ,5, 4, 3 ,2 ,1 Bomb Gone!!!

We felt the heat rising from our bodies and faces. I covered my eyes and could see through to the bones of my hands. I gasped thinking everything had been a dream.

The Broadcast counts up to fifteen. Fifteen seconds pass and

 the Broadcast says “Stand up, open your eyes, goggles off and face the burst.” Smoke surrounded the area. The temperature grew higher and my skin felt like it was peeling while I watched the radiant colours bursting into a mushroom cloud. It was like nothing I’d seen before. The heat burned into my body and face. We ran back inside the ship to avoid the heat..

Suddenly we heard and felt a sonic boom. We checked each other to make sure we were all safe.

I never want to experience another blast again.

One thought on “Sailor on Pukaki

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *